Poets logo

The Saga of the Spider

Dusty Web Has A Dinner Date

By Agathos DaimonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Saga of the Spider
Photo by Jeroen Bosch on Unsplash

The Spider was a lonely fellow, spinning all day long.

He worked hard on his wondrous web, all silver, sticky and strong.

“A dinner party I think I’ll have,” he pondered near the end,

Some colourful invitations I’ll write and to my neighbours send.

The Moth, the Fly and Longlegs too I’ll count as friends of mine,

Together we’ll dine by candlelight and I’ll drink on blood red wine.

And thus, he sent his invitations out, but no-one did respond.

The Moth, the Fly, the Longlegs too, of the Spider they were not fond.

His hospitality was legendary, for none could long endure

The subtle effects of his company, of this they were all sure.

They each had family tales to tell of Spider in times past,

Who visited in friendship and whose visit had been their last.

The Spider was determined though, and out went his mournful cry

“Oh come, oh come unto my parlour”, he called over to the Fly.

“I have no time,” the Fly replied, “to visit you today.”

“Tomorrow then, at half past five?” said Spider. “What now have you to say?”

“I’ll consider it,” he called back and buzzed off into the night.

Spider smiled gleefully, “At last everything will be all right.”

At half past five the Fly did return, but with Longlegs and the Moth.

“Oh Spider, Spider hiding from the light,” they all began to scoff.

“There’ll be no dinner on this night. Your company we don’t require.”

The Spider then in anger declared, “I curse you to the Fire.”

“I invite you to my wondrous palace, to share the pleasure of my weave.

You decline the beds and food prepared. This I just don’t believe!”

“Our families all were lost to you,” the trio all replied.

Quoth Spider, “They found with me ‘The Afterlife’ and heavily he sighed.

“They shared my wine and fell asleep. I wrapped each in a soft cocoon.

They stayed warm then in eternal sleep but left me all too soon.”

The Spider continued on “It’s unfair to cast all the blame on me,”

His eyes glinted evilly, “I’m certain you must all agree.”

Now Spider had the night before spun extra threads around,

And in a sudden draft of breeze Fly and Longlegs were tightly bound.

“I see you’ve changed your minds,” shouted Spider in relief

“Come hither now with me and share in my Afterlife belief.”

Both Longlegs and Fly sobbed with fright and absolute despair.

“You fiend, you filthy trickster. We knew all along! This really isn’t fair.”

“We never should have listened to the Moth and deny you with the Truth.

“You’re wicked, cold and calculating. It’s no wonder you’re friendless and aloof.”

“But I have you now in my company, for ever and all time.”

And whose to tell of these deeds? My wonderfully perfect crime?”

Spider looked and stared at the Moth, his question in the air.

“Moth, go now and spare yourself. You cannot save us now, even if you dare,”

Called Fly and Longlegs on the web, struggling for their lives.

Pain lancing through their frail wings, slicing them like knives.

The Moth he fled away crying, consumed he was with blame.

Carelessly he flew in sadness and became engulfed in candle flame.

Spider sang and danced then, upon his sticky strand ,

“This really couldn’t have been better, even if I’d planned!

The table laid with crystal and my finest silver, all is out

A feast there lies before me now, of this there is no doubt.”

Spider went to fetch his guests so he could start his dinner.

“Come along my merry friends and join your host, ‘The Sinner’.”

He declared with delight, “Its time to take a nap,” and sent them off to sleep.

And so, he carried on regardless of the threat which closer now began to creep.

For even as his grand designs were about to be fulfilled

That threat threw back the curtain, allowing light to be spilled.

The light, it rushed in and filled all the corners of the room .

It invaded everywhere no escape was there for the gloom.

With it came the mighty Duster, Spiders greatest enemy of old.

Crushing webs and silver strands his doom was now foretold.

Back and forth the Duster went, clearing all from in its path.

Spider watched as it drew near, and in despair began to laugh.

“Oh, most ill fortuned is my fate to bring You here to me.

Your timing is most unjust,” he cried out angrily.

He saw Fly and Longlegs wiped from his grasp, and amidst all his tears ,

Witnessed the sad collapse of his home confirming all of his worst fears.

He reflected sadly then, whilst curled upon the floor, “Such effort wasted must be wrong!”

So, now you know why the Spider stays such a lonely fellow, just spinning all day long.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Agathos Daimon

Thank you for dropping by!

Here at Agathos Daimon we have a collection of unique and quirky fiction / fantasy stories for both adults & children.

We hope you enjoy what you encounter with us. With Love and Best Wishes,

AD

Curator of Stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.