Poets logo

The Runaway

The shortest journey home sometimes takes the longest.

By giselaPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

I always packed my bags at dusk

and asked the sun to take me underground,

to roam together in ashes and dust

and find the answers hidden in my crown.

We found the moon and danced in circles,

chasing shadows east and west;

we wandered into messages in bottles,

the wild unknown made us her guest.

One day the sun began to flee

and left me stranded, unable to see-

I ran faster and faster and tumbled down,

tripping over my outgrown gown.

In depths of darkness I cried and cried

and slowly began to drown-

where was it all, all that I’d found?

Where had it gone, the light and sound?

My tears ran dry like desert rain,

and all that was left was my breath.

I slept and slept to let go of the pain,

and in the dreamland, found my name.

A morning came to whisper me awake,

My heart, broken open, met the rising sun.

No bags to pack, nothing to take-

I’m home, I’m home, nowhere to run.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

gisela

Writing to piece myself back together 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.