Poets logo

The roots of my genes

By Dex

By Dex Molina Published 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
The sound of my heart breaking.

Tell me you love me.

Tell me you care.

Tell me you’re proud of who I’ve become despite the scars you’ve once shamed.

Tell me you never hated me.

Tell me words I never heard that could heal those wounds that still bleed.

Tell me you accept me now.

Tell me you won’t leave.

Tell me you regret all those years you’ve spent away.

Tell me you aren’t ashamed of me.

Tell me when you left again it wasn’t my fault.

Tell the kid in me that you never meant to hurt them.

Tell them you always cared.

Tell them you always loved them.

Tell them you won’t shame them any longer.

Tell them you are proud to be my mother

Tell them you are proud to be my father

Tell me the things I’ve never heard.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.