Poets logo

The Robot in the Dark

A poem about a dream I had about a robot with glowing eyes. This dream occurred when I was a toddler–the robot looked exactly like Pappy from the kid's show "Rolie Polie Olie" during the Roundbeard's Ghost episode. I remember being scared of Pappy as he was sleepwalking outside at night, covered head to toe in flour.

By Madison NewtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Image of Pappy from "Rolie Polie Olie".

Spotlight eyes, peering

around the corner at the top of the stairs–

its movements jerky, rigid,

on my neck are goosebumps, prickly hairs.

I can't breathe, I can't speak,

it watches, frozen in place.

I take another step but stop cold

as it emerges completely, advancing towards my space.

It makes weird noises,

strained groans, shuffling steps, beeps–

it looks like a hungry monster made of metal

and I struggle not to make a peep.

I don't want to provoke it,

but it keeps staggering towards me.

My mother and father are nowhere to be found,

my siblings I can only guess are fast asleep.

Accepting my fate, I brace myself,

but then a miracle occurs–

the robot topples over,

its eyes grow dark, and I hear no more beeps or whirs.

My father rounds the corner,

an electric plug held tightly in his hand–

the robot had been plugged into the wall by an electric chord

and my brave father disconnected it, taking a stand.

surreal poetryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Madison Newton

I'm a recent graduate of Stony Brook University with a degree in Environmental Humanities and Filmmaking. I love writing and storytelling, and I love sharing my work so I can continue to improve my written voice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.