Poets logo

The Road Not Taken Blues

by Dan West

By Dan WestPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

The Road Not Taken. I took it. Now it’s overrun by tourists, Unsurprisingly, Boutiques and strip malls, fast food joints, Coffee shops, convenience stores, and of course gas stations, Lots of gas stations. Prime and Fedex trucks zoom by as I sit in my rocker waiting for delivery Of my very own unique genetic analysis, a horoscope of my past as it were. I fall for it all. Informercial Man, that’s me, consuming the philosophy of Greedy Glitter, Hoping for something new to hope for As a wind farm blows by, Giant windmills for this sorry new age Don Quixote to joust.

“Let’s all be unique together!” I shout As in wonder as I drift into a quantum slumber. But the universe has grabbed my name and gobbled up your number And even the universe Herself is not so unique these days As she stares down perfection, that big baby, And flavors her soup with black holes and sprinkles in some rhyme, Not caring what other universes might think.

The Road Not Taken, it was so nice when first I took it, But now to go you must book for months in advance And it is really just a theme park of itself. Stand in line for The Road Not Taken Roller Coaster, Yes indeed I have The Road Not Taken Blues As I sit in my Road Not Taken t-shirt Strapped in waiting for the ride to begin and when it lurches forward and We get to the top We all throw up our hands and shout “I’m Unique are you Unique too?”

Just then the rainbow appears Because even with all those monkeys And all those typewriters And all that time Nobody else in all the universe was mad enough to write This rhyme.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Dan West

Later

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DWWritten by Dan West

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.