Poets logo

The River's Journey

A life story

By Lauren RainePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The River's Journey
Photo by Jon Flobrant on Unsplash

I began in a mountain

just a youngster, trapped

in a small spring, it was like

being in a cage

I was seething with rage.

I longed to be free

to go as I wish

to feel the air

be everywhere.

My dream.

Suddenly I changed

to a young river

I was released

springing, racing

down waterfalls and rapids

venting my wrath

on any stone daring to be in my way.

Picking up stones and with all

my might, throwing them back to the brink.

Stopping at nothing

raging round meanders

shouting at everything.

Slowly I changed

to a middle aged river.

I became more sensible and calm

still wrathful, but less so.

I lazily floated along

propelling myself

giggling with glee as

fish jump in and out of me.

Frogs on lilypads, tickling my tummy

as friendly as can be.

I bump up and down gently

floating happily, watching my freedom sail by.

I am now an old age river

bumping over rocks

laughing as I go.

Remembering old times

funny times, sad times

then I catch a glimpse

and laugh out loud with joy

I see it shining in the sun

the white topped waves gleam,

the sea, glowing in the crimson sunset,

My home.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Raine

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.