Poets logo

The Rising Tide

It

By MakaaPaakaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
The Rising Tide
Photo by Cosmic Timetraveler on Unsplash

I looked out at the ocean and its vastness made me tremble. I had been driven out there by him because I had told him to do so.

I found myself admiring the crystal clear blue of the ocean and how the waves gently washed up onto the shore.

And in that moment of admiration I wondered whether it was all real. Like clockwork she appeared, the sea darkened at the horizon. It became a deep endless blue that swallowed all light that dared to be in its presence. The hues of blue transitioned from the darkest to the very lightest, from the horizon to the tips of my toes.

She gestured to the horizon, "Go there" she said whilst pointing to the deepest darkest part of the water.

"No, I cannot."

She gazed at me, "Why ?"

Looking at the ocean, " I cannot go there because I cannot swim."

" I cannot go there because I am afraid of what I will find in there."

I walked along the beach, making sure to avoid any contact with the water and with each step I took the water drew closer and closer until there was no sand left to walk on.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

MakaaPaaka

Instagram: @makaa.paaka

Twitter: @MaakaPakaa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.