Poets logo

The Revolutionaries

The ones that pave the way

By David ThomasPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo: by Fawwaz Jawed Khan

I am Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and like him I would like to be judged by the content of my character and not by the color of my skin.

I am intelligent, militant, and like Malcolm X who always managed to start things and finish it by any means necessary.

I am Dick Gregory, and like him I can use comedy as a tool to not only make people laugh, but make them think.

I am Huey P. Newton, a leader and somebody who strategized and mobilized his people to see change in his community.

I am Langston Hughes, because like him I believe my poems will bring about change and unity.

I am smoothe like Billy D. Williams with my words and phrases so that people will pay close attention to what I am saying.

I am 2pac Shakur, and like him “I believe that I might not change the world, but I will spark the brain that will change it by my honest lyrics or verses.”

I am like Nasir Jones (aka) Nas, because I paint a vivid picture of the world as I see it so that you can imagine it every time I talk about it.

I am like Dr. Michael Eric Dyson edgy, intellectual, and always searching for the truth.

I am like Muhammad Ali and somebody who shook up the world or will fight for what I believe in.

I am like Nelson Mandela and will forgive anybody who did me wrong in the past.

I am a rebel with a cause and want to teach my people how to stand up for themselves like Nat Turner.

And I am like the first and former black president, because I too, like Barack Obama believe “Yes, we can change the world!!!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Thomas

I am a 34 year old author/spoken word artist who has written 2 poetry books and an autobiography. I love to write poems that are well versed and talk about everything that is going in society. I will putting some poetry on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.