Poets logo

The Retreat

"Recharge and Reset"

By Michael L NeuhausPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Find love in your surroundings, and embrace the unknown

Within a restless mind, resides the desire of release,

lives lived without peace

and yet this is normal.

For the norm this is home

and to lose ones self is common.

I live on the notion of natures love

as a retreat one might say

for I find peace within the mountains and hills of life

and feel lost without such bliss.

As I embrace natures kiss

I reminisce on my youth.

Hard times and stress mixed with depression

and yet one place saved me from the pain.

Some call it Round Top while others call it desolate,

I however call it Home.

From twice a year to the thoughts in my head

I explore the remnants of my memories

to remind myself of the peace I seek

and of the place I'd rather be.

Woodstock, Saugerties, New Paltz, or Glenn Falls House

they all hold my heart

for the memories of love and family remain

and for that I am forever thankful.

Adventure and wonder were on my side

and the feeling of freedom resides

and for the moment I was one with myself

and away from insanity.

The Upstate wilderness of trees, animals, and long winding roads

will always see me as I am

and not who I was.

That feeling of hope, of strength, of purpose,

It all stems from this getaway.

A far cry from the poisons of the norm

and the feeling of home

within the beauty of solace and nature.

This is my retreat

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael L Neuhaus

Life is too short not to experience it. I'm just here to share mine with you all. Together we can create something beautiful.

Love yourself and never lose yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.