Poets logo

The Residence Within

I Am A Good Reason To Stay

By SouluminosityPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
The Residence Within
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

The sense of urgency that made me convulse so hard until I became a memory made me feel like a foreigner in my own body, a memory in my own mind,

I sought out on a quest to find my residence, to find this arena that my soul should exist in, to find the area that would not ostracize my spirit,

I searched in love and people for the water that I could not find in myself, I held fast to their tides trying to find my ocean, maybe their sea would eventually pour into my dehydrated river,

I searched in work and riches, maybe if I could climb the highest pyramid, I’d feel like royalty dressed in purple satin waiting for my jester to appease me,

And when I did not find it in any of these places, rage brewed inside me, black coffee as dark as night in the desert.

I grew angry, like a beast who is only labeled a beast because he is big and loud, my slippery survival mode kicked in and I could only fight, be defensive, kick, scream, run.

Until one day, I ran into myself, realized the home I was searching for has always been here, centered in my heart, and running away meant I was running from myself, myself, who I cannot escape, because I should not escape,

because I am the one who will never leave,

I am the one who will give me richness of the soul,

I am the one who will give myself approval and praise,

I am the one who will give myself a hug after a long day, a goodnight kiss, a pep talk, a cup of coffee, rivers that overflow, boundless amounts of love and appreciation,

a good reason to stay.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.