Poets logo

The Red Beverage

Melted away

By Marie Cadette Pierre-LouisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
The Red Beverage
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

His heart’s in my mind

Answer the why

I still pondered:

“Is it mine?”

“When would I be there?”

***

“Never!”

Murmured his smirky eyes

As he passed by

***

Reasons were clear

I was too smooth to be loved

Not tough to be hated

I was not for caress

Nor for quarrel

My heart was but icy blood

One touching it

It melted away

***

“Love is too harsh”

“Smoothy heart is but trouble”

I wonder

***

He mistakenly brushed my heart

In an unforeseen hug

His fingers were too hot

It melted away

I felt like pondering

“Am I the nutrient beverage to water his dry heart?”

“Am I the water for his burning heart?”

***

I was but some funky sauce for the entrée

He just tasted the red beverage

Too sweet to be first

He went on to most tasty recipes

***

My mind was a maze

When I stopped feeling my heart

It fell on a white ceramic floor

And he trampled on it

***

Smash!

Splash!

One second passed

His feet were on the red beverage

By and by

Spatter after spatter

My heart followed his path

***

My heart was too smooth

And love is too harsh

My heart was but icy blood

And he was so hot

I lost my heart

But his is still in my mind

slam poetry
6

About the Creator

Marie Cadette Pierre-Louis

Hey, it's Marie! I enjoy writing poem and amazing sotries :)

Medium | Instagram | Twitter | TikTok | Tumblr | LinkedIn | YouTube

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I loved your last stanza the most. It was super relatable. Also loved all the imageries you've used. Excellent poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.