Poets logo

The "Real" World

A poem about high school coming to an end and feeling lost about what comes next.

By Jocelyn PoncePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

As an adolescent,

time is now obsolescent.

There's only one year left of high school,

I felt like I was such a fool.

Truths we call today,

They will all turn to lies.

It's all a matter of time,

This fatiguing game we call life.

Happiness is scarce among these sorrowed hearts,

Life tends to think sadness is part of the arts.

And although people dissemble they are happy,

There is never a true escape.

When will I be deceased?

The less thinking becomes more of the questions asked.

A wordless mouth with only beautiful words to display,

Along with a beautiful smile, laughing away.

Those who have felt pain always ask,

Why don't you show that you ache?

I would not have the tears that sadness makes,

To flow from my every part turn into laughter.

People have only found me here throughout my life,

This chamber of happiness.

Those around me always disagree,

It is impossible that one can never hurt.

I never deny that I don't hurt,

I will never express those emotions.

It is unnecessary to have a frown,

When I have people around me who make sure I am never down.

I may feel those emotions when I'm alone,

But those I have to deal with on my own.

Much of my pain is self-chosen,

And can keep your heart at wonder of what good life has to offer.

When you feel sadness look again in your heart,

And you shall see that in truth you are in tears for that which has been your delight.

The more the sadness cuts into your heart,

The more joy you can contain within it.

When you are joyous look again in your heart,

You'll see it is the sadness that creates the feeling of joy.

They come together,

Just remember when you feel one of two emotions, one is awake and the other is asleep

My soul warns me from the doubt in my heart,

I shall never let the feeling of sorrow overcome me.

I won't ever let it tear me apart,

That is why I will always keep a smile on my face.

You will never catch me with a frown,

I much rather spread my joy around.

What can I say?

I am just a happy person.

I would rather that I died in yearning and longing than that I live fatiguing and despairing.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.