Poets logo

The Rain puddle

Acquiesce

By Katie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Rain puddle
Photo by Janine Robinson on Unsplash

What life this puddle reflects, is it mine or am I just along for the ride?

Have all my steps been my own or have I allowed myself led, have I given over my life to the control of others without my consent, simply by my silence.

My acquiescence.

Can we truly say that all our decisions are our own?

At what point do you realize you have lost control over your own destiny, that your happiness, your livelihood, your life is in the hands of others.

That the decisions that they make, without any regard to you, will affect you profoundly.

And still we acquiesce.

How weak we’ve become, blindly accepting their continuing river of lies and deception.

How many freedoms do we have to lose before you realize you’ve been herded like sheep into their gas chambers of fascist control.

Slowly, with the media behind them at every turn pushing their narrative they erode our rights. Our freedoms. Getting people used to the same things that the Nazis used.

Vaccine passports, really? You can shove your passport with a twist of lime thank you.

Yet daily that’s all I hear, nothing about how that violates every principle of our constitution.

And still they squawk, the sky is falling the sky is falling. Shut the F.... up.

History is and has always been the greatest tool to avoid making the same mistakes. Yet here we are. You can put a dress on a pig but it’s still a pig.

People need to wake up.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.