Poets logo

The Rain on Downhill

[ poem by Maximilian G. Wolf ]

By Maximilian G. WolfPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Rain on Downhill
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

------------

We went downhill together, seeking answers to the questions of life.

Heading to the rivers and their mouths.

Holding hands, we are close and united.

*

This is the first picture I see of your face.

I sense your precarious gait - though full of strength.

While I hold your hand like a boy

I help carefully, not wanting you to notice.

*

The path through the oak forest of our ancestors,

on both sides are the skeletons of the past.

The gentleness of your character and timeless love

they are forever in my thoughts.

*

Wet blades of grass - as our footsteps glide.

Across the ground,

like the whisper of the rain disappears into the distance.

They always wash my face with tears.

*

Your friends joyfully call on your name

they rejoice in your smile and cheerfulness.

My soul rejoices

while holding my hand tightly.

-----#-----

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Maximilian G. Wolf

Dear All,

On my posts, you can find authentic contemporary love poems and short stories. All verses and stories are my original work.

-----

You can support my work. https://ko-fi.com/maximilian_g_wolf

-----

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.