Poets logo

The Quiet Place

Surreal poetry by K. R. King

By Kat KingPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

The Quiet Place

Katharyn R. King

Nowhere is there another place as cold and dim as this,

There is no other rendezvous;

And I am merely a Whisper,

Prowling in the quiet place.

She heard my voice and wept for me,

She felt dreadfully ashamed;

"Tis cold and dark, and tiresome," I whispered through the darkness.

She found my still, pale body,

Stolen by the Verity Seekers,

And how She wept for years,

To know I am gone forever.

No longer am I who I was,

And She thinks I am gone forever-

Stolen by the Verity,

On a bleak October eve.

The lifelessness is unbearable;

They will not slay My soul.

This Earth has been unforgivable,

And I am a forsaken entity.

No where is there another place,

As desolate as My grave;

Yet no flight has been exposed…

And She knows I am gone forever.

I once look upon the skies,

In those days, Respite was close-knit friend;

But now it is too late for relief, for reprieve;

She knows I am gone evermore.

The barrenness is insufferable;

They will not slay My heart.

They mean to keep me in this place-

They intend to keep Us apart.

This Earth has been deplorable,

And I am a forsaken remnant;

A relic among relics,

To be mourned among the others.

To be trampled on by passersby,

Whom I cannot give my Gift.

And She knows I am gone forever.

My Love is gone as well,

Yet remains bizarrely intact.

And though I am but an echo,

Her Soul is mine, I've seen the sign;

And the Earth has gone to Hell.

What can I do?

An echo is powerless…

Stolen by the Verity-

I was a cold blooded villain;

Then, now, and always a villain…

But They stole me with the Verity,

The protestant villagers and kin.

They took my Life and stripped my Soul-

No more am I able to breathe…

And yet I remain somehow alive,

A whisper,

An echo…

And they are damned to stop me-

For I am what comes from punishment;

The one who haunts the Insane…

I am a fearful whisper,

I creep through the foolish minds,

And taint the innocent thoughts.

I am whom your children fear,

In the night when they should be asleep.

She knows I am gone forever,

But she is mistaken, dear child, mistaken…

I drive the most sound ones to madness, child!

I am-

Insanity.

They took my life,

I shall steal their reason,

Dead and buried, I lie in peace-

But none can ever seek me…

In death, I gained immortality…

And now it is my turn to thieve.

I am the Sanity Stealer…

The ceaseless Lover awaits me…

She aches to surrender what is mine.

Though She believes I am gone forever,

Come my Child, it is Time.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kat King

Change agent. Writer. Actor. Director. Producer.

[Follow] IG @stardatetoday @glass.stars.project | Twitter @stardatetoday

#LeaveNormalBehind

www.katharynking.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.