Poets logo

The Quest for Home

A Modern Fairytale

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo: Nicole De Khors

Hopeful sense of stability.

Open hearts and minds.

Meandering days on the couch.

Empathy that knows no bounds.

An acrostic doesn’t feel quite right.

Maybe a haiku will set the mood right?

Kumo to ame (Clouds and rain)

Attakai uchi (Warm house)

Ima hareru (It is sunny now)

Surely sensei would approve.

The characters capture my rainy state move.

Maybe my quest for home is a modern version of Goldilocks.

This house is too hot.

This house is too cold.

This house is…I still haven’t found just right to call home.

Maybe my quest for home is a modern version of The Three Little Pigs.

The wolf blew down my house of straw.

The wolf blew down my house of sticks.

The wolf can’t blow down my house of bricks, because it doesn’t exist.

The process to find a genre to capture home poetically

Emulates my struggle to find a home literally.

So a stream of consciousness flow should do.

Forget the quatrains with constraints and all the gobbledygook.

Remembering that home is where the heart is

Keeps me centered no matter where I live.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship.

For products and services, visit: stephaniebradberry.com

For online courses, visit: bradberryacademy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.