Poets logo

The Querent

Death by Chocolate

By Bonnie MishaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
post apocalyptic

So is all new food nutritious?

Supposedly

What do you mean?

If you’re satisfied by label disclosure

So you can’t trust it?

Silence

What about old food?

Labels or nutrition?

Both

No and no

What about unlabelled food?

Like?

A bunch of silverbeet

It’s still labelled

How?

Biocodes

But I can’t see the biocodes

No

Should I?

Yes

So is there something wrong with me?

How long have you got?

Silence

So is any new food dangerous?

Yes

How do I know which types?

Biocodes

But I don’t see them

Well you’re not designed to know

So can I get a list?

No

Can I get a scanner?

No

Can I get help of any kind?

You are

Silence

Why does new food use biocodes?

Consumer biometrics

I haven’t been briefed about that

You won’t be

How will I know?

It’s already been downloaded

So I missed the moment?

Silence

Well how do I catch up?

You don’t

So I have no biometrics?

Yes, you shed plenty

I’m not getting this

No, other intelligent sources are

If I’m not plugged into biocodes, should I only eat old food?

Doesn’t matter

It does to me

Why do you eat?

Because I’m hungry

Novel. Why else?

Because it keeps me alive.

It doesn’t really.

What does then?

Your intention

So I could stop eating altogether and live?

Yes

Why do we still have food then?

Comfort

So is there any advantage for me to keep eating?

No, just comfort

So I should only eat comfort food?

You’re not getting this are you?

Silence

What do you eat?

I don’t

Did you ever?

Yes

What was your favourite food?

Comfort

What gave you comfort then?

This is your session remember

But it might help me understand my comfort now

This is about your food

Ok well I like lots of food

Be specific

I like mouth movement

Chewing?

No

Tastes and saliva moving around

What else?

Sweetness

Maximum trainable receptors

Receptors in the brain?

Yes uptake regulators

So are my receptors being messed with?

Optimised

Overstimulated you mean?

That’s your choice

You mean what I eat?

What you choose to put into your life

So if I like more sweet foods for comfort, that’s my choice?

Yes

I’m not being manipulated?

Things are being optimised

Optimised for who?

All parties

That’s hard to believe

That’s your choice

Is there any disadvantage in eating too much sweetness?

Yes

Will it make me sick?

Yes

Will it kill me?

It could

So why provide sweeter new food if it’s risky?

Comfort

So it’s a trade off?

Yes

So how does sweeter food register in my biometrics?

It registers loudest

I don’t understand

Silence

Is that why new food is so sweet?

All new food is built on the ph of sweet

Why?

Comfort

Why the biocodes?

Biometrics

Who uses the biometrics?

Those with the downloaded sensors

Everyone but me?

Raw, ugly self persecution

So I need comfort right?

That’s your choice

So will I get any comfort if I stop eating?

Only you know your life

What’s the difference between new and old food?

The sweetness

Same nutrition?

Yes

Same risks?

No

So is new food more dangerous?

It’s sweeter

Yes but does the extra sweetness have any dangers?

Yes

Why bother with new food then?

Comfort

So we’re back to the trade off thing?

Yes

Can I get comfort from all new food?

You tell me

Well new cake is sweet and mushrooms very sweet

What gives you more comfort?

New sweet mushrooms

Silence

Should I only eat when I need comfort?

Up to you

Can I overdo my comfort?

Yes

Can you give me an example?

It’s all in your biometrics

But I don’t get a copy

So you‘ll have to make do

You mean do things the old way?

Yes and no

More about hunger and appetite?

No, about entitlement

What do you mean?

It’s all in your biometrics

Stop messing with me

You don’t need my help for that

What happens with my biometric data?

It keeps you alive

So food doesn’t but biometrics do?

Yes

Can you see my biometric data?

Yes

Is it is good news?

No

What can I do about it?

Find comfort

So eat to keep alive?

No, find a yourself a comfortable place

What do you mean?

Do you enjoy new chocolate?

Yes, I especially love new chocolate

You might as well indulge.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bonnie Misha

children’s author/designer - books, games, toys

http://www.sashaandfriends.com

little aussie battler series

children’s fantasy - faerie & elementals series

animation - bicky and boo - series

historic manuscripts - WW2 - s w pacific command

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.