Poets logo

THE PUPPET MASTER

Freedom from manipulation

By a*k² (a times k-squared)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The puppet master holds the strings

One twitch, I move this way,

Another and I move that.

They lift me up and I soar,

Then quickly bring me down

To show who is in control.

The puppet master holds the strings

They put me down to play

With the other puppets,

Pick me back up as I try to leave.

And yet they do not allow me

To get too comfortable

As they set me aside again.

The puppet master holds the strings

They enjoy their own show.

But what about the puppet?

The puppet felt out of control

Took a while but it understood,

It was the puppet, not the master.

When it decided to switch

From puppet to master,

It stopped being a part of their story.

It took back the strings

And crafted itself a brand new one.

When it finally left, others did too

And created new realities of their own.

And that’s how they shut down

The puppet master and their show.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

a*k² (a times k-squared)

Thinker | Feeler | Writer

My mission is to spark self-empowerment journeys through self-discovery

How? Instrospection

Goal: Explore | Experiment | Learn | Share | Grow

My book Masks & Layers: amzn.to/3qivjXQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.