Poets logo

The Pull of Water

A Poem by Keila Aartila

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2021
56
The Pull of Water
Photo by Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

I am fascinated by wild water,

the great power of it’s rhythmical sound,

yet remain terrified that I might drown.

***

My dreams float colorful on the current,

carried to generations yet unfound.

I am fascinated by wild water.

***

From the shore, my limited time is spent

on this relentless course to which I’m bound,

yet remain terrified that I might drown.

***

To it’s glorious nature, rivers bent,

new paths carved steadily through untamed ground.

I am fascinated by wild water.

***

Forever flowing fresh, never stagnant;

by magic moonlight, I am safely crowned,

yet remain terrified that I might drown

***

under the weight of wishes sent

to journey upon gentle waves profound.

I am fascinated by wild water

yet remain terrified that I might drown.

nature poetry
56

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Flawless flow. Congratulations 🎉

  • This was incredible

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful. Previously read and hearted.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Re-read. Hearted previously!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.