Poets logo

The Prompt

Help!

By Dagmar GoeschickPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
https://www.peakpx.com/en/hd-wallpaper-desktop-oscja

Help!

People are saying

Dreams come True!

People are lying

Dreams are Nightmares'.

The sleep is not my friend anymore,

it is my Time out, my Brain shut off.

I don't want to think, I don't want to drown,

I want to fly - but it never happens.

I am sleeping deep and deeper,

I am sweating more and more,

my enemies are coming forward,

and there is no escape.

They are hunting for me, they want me dead,

I am running and running, but I am stuck.

They are coming closer and closer, and I try to flee,

I can see their faces, white and nasty,

big rolling eyes, lips so red like they are burning.

And they are coming for a feast - ME.

I can see the tunnel, it is in my reach,

but I am stuck - my feet don't move.

My heart is beating and beating close to a heart attack.

My body is full of sweat - they are coming.

I try to reach the tunnel - but my feet won't move

even if they are running like hell.

They are so close now that I can smell them,

they stink of rotten fish - I hate fish!

Now they are trying to grab me - oh my god!

I can feel their hands all over me, I am dead.

I can feel the pain - it hurts.

My head hurts, my arm hurts and even my back hurts.

I wake up so suddenly - I don't know where I am.

Am I dead?

No, I hit the floor, sweat all over me.

I am scared to go back to sleep.

The dream is not finished yet.

They are still hunting for me.

They have time - more time than me.

I am scared to close my eyes again.

They are hunting for me.

Me. I am alone in that dream.

They know I am alone.

I can feel them - no need to close my eyes.

My nose can smell them.

I can see them - my body is covered in cold sweat.

I am scared, I want to cry for HELP.

But I can't. My voice is gone.

They tug at me

I'm trying to escape!

I hear voices!

But I don't know who these voices belong to!

They shake like crazy at me.

The voices are coming closer

"Hey, wake up, you're on the floor".

I'm afraid to open my eyes.

"Hello??? you're lying on the carpet and you're really cold!"

I widen my eyes and see my daughter standing over me.

It's morning, the sun is shining and I can already smell

the fresh rolls.

I won the fight.

For this night.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.