Poets logo

The Present of Presence

Under the Wallowing Sky

By Billi FoxPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

My front yard is the sea, freedom right in front of me

My back yard is the estuary, you see, with an echo of freedom right behind me

As I meander with a relaxing stroll

Past the lupins not yet bloomed

Over the sand hill of toi toi to behold

And notice the day sky pale moon

so pretty a soft white against the blue

The salty air caressing my face

As the seagulls swing high

The tide setting in an early pace

To reach the driftwood nearby

How blessed I feel as I take in the sight

And reflecting on what should have been

That influenced a restless night

Of a wedding in thought now delayed and unseen

As the salty tears merge and swell

In rhythm with the waves

The gratitude I feel for this wonderful place

Has been my saving grace

Bare foot in the sand

As it feels wet on my feet

Rubbing together my hands

Knowing one day again soon we shall meet

Back to my home

And onto my beachy deck

I need never feel alone

As I pause and reflect

A sunrise or a moonrise

Are never the same

They gift a magic surprise

As I gaze through my window pane

A richness of wealth of colour you see

Always looking back at me

With The odd rainbow ablaze

Out of the shadows of grey

And the Sun kisses the rain shower

Not so far away

What shall I do now

As I glance around my room

I feel safe somehow

Seeing the yellow daffodils in full bloom

The kitchen beckons

For something to eat

As the pandemic strengthens

Simplicity lays at my feet

Fresh garden mint

Crackles at my senses

No need for toil or sitting on fences

As I bring the new potatoes to the boil

A fresh salad plays on my mind

As I pick the tomatoes

From the heirloom vines

Crisp lettuce and red beats

Into the mix they shall go

As I prepare this nutritious feast

To be Zapped up in a mo

But with ever tender loving care

I place these things upon my plate

And give thanks in prayer

For good fortune and good fate

Diego enters through the cat swinging door

Not mine to own

As he licks his paw

And he commands a kingly air

As he nestles into my gold lounge chair

Life is good

And complete and whole

No more should or could or would

As he now heads for my cats bowl

This raven prince with a glamorous fur coat

How can I not smile

As he pauses and gloats

Because I give him an inch and he takes the whole mile

Now spread out on my polished floor

Basking in the golden rays

I am not ready to go home he says

For I feel I would like to stay for the day

And your love I just want more

No more TV for me today

It has nothing I want hear

The world has so much to say

Invoking much separation and fear

My hands are weathered

From many a year

Out in the trenches

Of life’s struggles to bare

Relax and accept

And all will unwind

In taking the next steps

For we shall find

Our internal highway

Was always there

Full of creativity

We could so easily share

As I hang my painting

Of my soul undressed

My heart sings

In the quest to express

And the sense of satisfaction

As I took that simple key

For to see the sea you see was always inside of me.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Billi Fox

Aspiring writer — putting thoughts into words about relationships, love, life, personal growth and even the naughty stuff. Living with purpose — on a perpetual life-time adventure.

@billi_foxx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.