Poets logo

The power of us

Get up stand up

By Rheanna DouglasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
The power of us
Photo by Wonderlane on Unsplash

What does it feel like to be empowered?

How many of us know?

How many of us know the feeling of standing firm within our own truth no matter what the world around you throws at you?

To be so rock steady that not a thing in this world or any other could push you off balance?

Well I venture to say it's more and more of us each day.

That is what I love the most.

I love seeing empowered people.

I love living my life in my own strength.

In a world of self empowered people, there is no need for validation, you are already valid.

No use for competition, we are all limitless.

No point to monetization, we affirm one another through our existence and our experiences.

Idealistic? Maybe.

In a world built on authority that seeks to undermine the individual, and to keep you indebted to a system that never pays you out, absolutely.

A system that threatens to take your life if you don't comply, definitely.

But it only reads as idealism in the face of oppression.

And I have to say, I see a different future. Even a different potential present reality from the one we've been fed our whole lives.

One that doesn't feed off of our insecurities by feeding us it's shortcomings.

One where validation, monetization and competition still exist, sure.

But one in which we no longer allow those things and things like those to have power over us.

A world where the lie of external validation, competition with your neighbor, and corporate monetization, no longer keeps us enslaved.

Or pitted against one another, fighting tooth and nail for something or to protect something that will never be fully yours.

I see a future where we take the tools of empowerment back into our own hands.

Where your neighbors are your support system.

Where communities replace corporations.

And where your validation comes from deep within you and is honored by those around you.

And call me crazy, but I believe we can start building that future right now.

We can start, any of us can start, with ourselves.

Uplift yourself and you will start to want to uplift each other.

The stronger I get,

the stronger you get,

The stronger you get,

the stronger we get.

Idealistic? Only to those not paying attention.

So be too loud to be ignored.

Someone doesn't like you?

No! They don't like themselves.

So love yourself and show them how.

Know your truth and never question it because someone else says you should.

And don't deny the truth of others.

Don't settle for tolerance, embrace radical acceptance.

Because we are different, we can reach a greater understanding together.

We humans are externally and experientially diverse so we can support one another and expand our understanding of this earthly experience.

And I believe we are beginning to understand.

I want to see a strong, empowered society, built from love and understanding.

To see a future of compassion, not comparison.

A future where we do not merely live and let live. But live to live together.

Where instead of tearing anyone down, everyone stands strong beside one another, each fully inside of our own power.

Fully aware of each other and fully aware of ourselves.

It's really not too much to expect, it's who we are meant to be.

You asked me what I'm passionate about? I'm passionate about you.

I'm passionate about me.

I'm passionate about us.

All of us working together and creating, building the future that our hearts can see.

I'm passionate about opening up,

I'm passionate about exposing all of the cracks

And I'm passionate about filling them in.

I'm passionate about healing all wounds.

I do not believe that this is an idealistic future. I believe this is a true and realistic future. Because I believe in you.

As we are all, after all,

In this thing together.

Peace and blessings.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Rheanna Douglas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.