Poets logo

The Power Of They.

Ode to a new and much required world.

By Jodie KnowlesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

They, is a shining beacon.

One where all roads will lead,

Him and Her will become pronouns of the past,

As the flower blooms from the seed.

They will speak,

They will be heard,

They one community,

United in our world.

For now some of those may struggle,

To understand and thats ok,

It deems no explanation,

It’s not a hot cross bun on ‘How‘s it made.’

The truth is there is no recipe,

Our ingredients are exactly the same.

You and I, clusters of Atoms,

Dug up and relayed in bodies,

With a tiny human making spade.

If we dont always fit in to rigid social constructs,

We are neither waiters or maids,

The correct term for all earths people....

I, you and they,

You my friend...

Just got lost along the way.

If you’d rather us hide behind our limited shell,

Well small minded beings,

I could scream and I could yell,

Or better yet,

I bid you well,

As I drop my coin of an equal future,

Deep within your wishing well.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jodie Knowles

My names Jodie Knowles. Every morning I wake up and write out 3 pages of whatever comes to my head. Doing this brings me peace, it’s my ritual, a place where I explore the ideas that come to me and from there I create.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.