Poets logo

The Power in my Mind

A Poem by Keila Aartila

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
13
The Power in my Mind
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

The Power in my Mind

Here residing in my head

Your words are spoken, truth unsaid

Plead forgiveness if you must

Of your tongue, I’ll never trust

Consider this my final warn

Reach for me and you I’ll scorn

Instead, embrace your denied part

To warmly find your beating heart

Emotions with forked tongue are dead

Still, you reside in my head.

Thank you for reading! This is my first attempt at writing an acrostic poem, as challenged by Thavien Yliaster. (I think I need more practice.)

Don’t let the hypocrites live rent-free in your head. It’s time to evict!

surreal poetrysad poetry
13

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I liked this a lot. I still have yet to try an acrostic! Great Job!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautifully said!!!💕💖😊

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonder acrostic!! Beautiful and powerful. Well done!

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    This poem is so empowering, and there are so many great words. I’ve so much to learn about poem types, I’ll have to try making an acrostic poem myself!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonderful and really truthful! Great job :)

  • With you on this, the hypocrites will never change , but you know you are right. Great poem.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Awesome!! And I agree, the hypocrites can get gone!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is fabulous. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.