Poets logo

The Poem

The Best Day of My Life

By Agustin De LeonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

When I was about 6 years of age, a wise old man - we will simply call him Eusebio, told me a story - and this is how it was told.

There was a time, when I was planning to live forever. However, I found it necessary to change those plans. I never understood what he meant until I myself became a middle-aged man. Down on my luck, homeless, jobless, hungry and broke, I picked up my guitar; leashed up my dearest and only friend and took a walk down the railroad tracks. Repeating the old man's words over and over silently in my head, I didn't realize the speeding locomotive heading straight towards me until the end. From nowhere, a strong force of energy blew me away. My guitar flew one way, my dog flew the other way and I flew straight into the air. I came crashing down head first with a great thud. The fall busted my head open on the cold rails of the track. I awoke several hours later to my dog licking my wounds. As I sat there dazed and confused, wondering how and why I was still alive, a dark shadow figure approached me. It told me not to look at him whilst he picked up and tuned my guitar. He handed me my guitar along with a little black notebook. Frightened and delusional, I sat there for what seemed to be an eternity. When I finally mustered the strength to pick myself up, I ran like hell for about the next hour - towards the beautiful lights of the skyline of San Antonio, Texas. Finally coming to a stand still, I sat at a bus stop and stared at this little black notebook for what seemed like hours. Eventually, I gathered the courage to open it and investigate its contents. As I flipped through the pages front to back and back to front, over and over again, I found only blank pages throughout. Disappointed, cold, hungry, sober and tired, I passed out on the bus bench. When I awoke, I took a stroll under the bridge where I had been living for the past year. Angry with my life, I threw the book down in front of me and it opened up to a page with scribbled words that I had not seen before. I was astonished and bewildered, as this writing was absent when I first had reviewed its pages. I picked up the little black notebook and realized the scribbled writing was a poem. The poem read as follows:

The Devil and the Angel / The devil always wins/ The angel drops her wings and gives in to sin/ You know you'll never win for your fate is in my hands. Like I said before, obey all of my commands/ It's a good day in heaven but a better day in hell / The paths open up so that I can tell this tale - of a story that you know so well/ It is about a man trapped deep within his mind and it is all caused because he does not know that he is blind/ And deep within his heart, you will never find - the dark twisted thoughts he'll never tell you that he is fine/ And if he ever does, you'll watch your tears fall like doves/ Like the blood that spills from Christ above/ Blessing all of us with love to save us from our sins but little does he know that he will never win/ For I am the Devil, the master of disguise - the one you think is true but is always telling lies/ The one who hates you but loves you when you are mine/ Your friend never but your enemy all the time/ I am God - Father, Son and Spirit - everyday you are living is because your sins, I have forgiven/ Your friend you believe I am not, because my rival has got you caught/ Lose faith not my child, for in his arms you might end up/ Embraced in eternal life, forever to never see the sun/ My child I have forgiven, into hell you are welcome.

As I was reading the poem, I did not realize that I had been picking at the strings of my black guitar - humming along in my head and hearing music from afar. So I took a walk to the tourist attractions of downtown San Antonio. Trying my luck at rock and roll, I sang this poem with all my heart and soul. People began throwing money at me like rain sent from heaven above. When it was all said and done, I had picked up what seemed to be a ton. Much to my surprise, there were no single dollar bills but there were plenty of ten, twenty and hundred dollars filled. Excited as heck, I picked them all up and began giving back to others who shared my similar luck. Afterwards, I made my way to a favorite bar of mine to have myself a cold one and slowly pass the time. It was the fastest I had ever downed a beer in my life - so much so, that I found myself having to drain the lizard before much time. As I recounted the load of dead presidents in my stash, the total amount amazingly added up to $20K cash! The door to the stall that I was in, flew open and hit me dead square on my chin - suddenly, I awoke where I had been. My whimpering dog was staring straight into my eyes, as I realized it had all been a dream I had surmised. Although I am still broke, hungry, sober, and cold - it was The Best Day of My Life, for I am not alone. I turned and kissed my dog as I cried myself back to sleep, I leave you all now with this darkest of dreams.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.