Poets logo

The Pink Sky

A reminder.

By Clo BoffaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Pink Sky
Photo by Saurav Mahto on Unsplash

''Look up at the sky, and tell me that is not a little piece of heaven?"

It is heaven, Leanne, it is a reminder to us all.

I wish I could have reminded you more.

A pink sky fills me with emotions, yet I am calm within. It is striking, it is gentle. The magnetic pink calls us to be still, to breathe in.

I grab the hand of a loved one standing next to me, gazing at the contrasting reds and blues. I am reminded that there is beauty to be found right in front of us - if we so choose.

I think about losing you, and who it has made me today. I think about your suffering; and how many angels are looking to go home and find their way. Nonetheless, you always pointed out a pink sky, even when darkness ensued. Whether it be to spark faith in good weather, a new day, or to encapsulate gratitude.

You taught me so much, and even without you here, continue to. Your heartfelt lessons are ingrained in me; I don't want anyone to lose hope for a new day, like you.

Before turning pink, it has to experience blue. The distance the light must take to travel creates what shines through.

Is it a blessing we don't get to see her for long each day? If we did, would she be as special? Would she spark hope? Would we stop and reflect, if she did stay?

Perhaps others do not see the pink sky the same as I do. As each time I look up, I am reminded of what contrasts us, the person I hope to be, and angelic memories of you.

As I reflect on what you've taught me, I am brought back to the present by a return squeeze of my hand. As I speak, I feel you here, and I know you understand.

''That is why, my dear, I hope to be your pink sky. The pink that tilts your head and heart upwards; that sparks faith - before you say goodbye.

I know I can't be a perfectly pink sky each sunset or day. But if and when I can, I hope to help settle the dark, the grey.

As the pink transcends, I know not to alter my path for one shorter, you see. The pain and understanding that comes with a longer road - creates hearts filled with depth and empathy.

And just like a pink sky, I will come as fast as I can to reach you. I will remind you to look up and within, as I promise there is a magic that radiates through.''



inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.