Poets logo

The Pilot

(2019)

By Tom BakerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

The old man with the white whiskers,

Flies his little single-engine prop plane,

Perilously close to the road below, strafing a cowering auto

Which cuts through fields of dark corn, as behind us, behind him at least

(as I am mere passenger on his midnight aerial cruise)

The screaming erupts into the night, and I comment,

--Someone is being killed back there.

--But is this presently occurring, or just an echo?

He looks into the black, star-strewn sky above and tells me,

--I know.

And later, when I try to shower all the filth of him away,

The wizened old goat face with the straggling hair and beard lock me

In the hotel bathroom,

And I know that like a shower scene in a certain movie,

The next night's screaming will come from me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.