Poets logo

The Phoenix

A Poem

By McKenzie McQuadePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Phoenix
Photo by Gary Fultz on Unsplash

I've never been able to do anything subtle

If I want something I'm going to get it or set it on fire That's just my personality

I'm a real live wire

Just a warning if you're going to play with me You're sure to get tired

All of the dreamers aside

I'm out to make my dreams a reality With me it's going to be a wild ride

I hardly sleep and hold my head up high with pride

Anyone who wants to join me better be ready to ride or die I'm not interested in sitting on the sidelines and watching opportunities pass me by

Not when there's so much life out there to live

I'm going to spread my wings wide and fly as high as I possibly can Into the pale blue sky and set it a blaze

With this mighty flame of mine

Then I will revel in the astonished gaze of every naysayer who doubted me for the way I was raised

Also keep on razing for I am the Phoenix rising

slam poetrysurreal poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

McKenzie McQuade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.