Poets logo

The People that Never Sleep

Rushing Through Life

By Alina GallupePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

It seems like I am always waiting.

Waiting for 5 pm.

Waiting for the T.

Waiting for the weekend.

Waiting for the Lyft driver to pull up.

When I'm not waiting, I'm rushing.

Rushing to class.

Rushing to meet clients.

Rushing through papers.

Rushing out the door.

My life is measured in glances at the clock.

Do I have time to change?

Do I have time to eat?

Will I make the early bus?

Will I be late?

When I finally get what I want,

or get where I'm going,

or eat,

or get to the weekend,

it's over too fast and I start again.

Because those who are trained to never sit,

can't even enjoy moments of rest.

Can you imagine?

Taking a real break,

sitting down,

stopping?

Like what you read? Please consider leaving a tip so I can keep writing and bringing you more content!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alina Gallupe

I am a graduate student of Mental Health Counseling in Cambridge, MA. I strive to combine my mental health knowledge and my love of writing to explore all topics related to the human experience. I am also a dedicated cat mom and home cook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.