Poets logo

The Pendulum Clock

Don't you ever buy a clock if you want to live

By Matt B.Published 6 months ago 1 min read
3

I hear the eternal ticking of the fickle

And purple fire dripping through the clockwork

I see a river tricking into a trickle

I wait for hours to pass so awkward

*

Hours, and hours, and hours I gaze

Not a single time it’s made a mistake

Constant, piercing

Endless, piercing

*

The judge dictates a nightmare:

That each night will a boat sail

And will burn and never return

And in turn, will my life yearn

*

What god averted my success

And condemned me to this hell?

To be the witness of myself!

To acknowledge the hours, to be conscious of days

*

And at the end of each day, each hour

Each month, each year

Taste my life and taste sour

Watch hope disappear

*

Defined, enclosed, but strange

It’s endless, and that won’t change

Each time I see its moves I think:

My time compared is just a blink

*

At night can’t sleep, for I hear its constant ticking

That sound at night, my eyes it is pricking

Every second it knocks, but there’s no door to lock

Every second it mocks! My death, that damned clock!

performance poetryvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryinspirationalart
3

About the Creator

Matt B.

He/Him

A romantic reader and an amateur writer who likes to write non-conventional stories and unusual plot lines.

I read romantic era fiction and find myself lost in the pages of Dumas' "The Count of Montecristo" and Shelley's "Frankenstein"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so deep and poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.