Poets logo

The Pen

Writing shows us the truth.

By Caitlin SammingaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Pen
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The pen has always been a mighty tool,

Saving many people like me and you.

It’s saved us not only from mortal man,

But from the one we see in the mirror every A.M.

It’s shown me my darkest self,

And reminded me I am not beyond help.

It’s cut away the rotten parts of me,

And helped me to see my beauty clearly.

It’s documented memories that I hold dear,

And helped me see the light when I am overcome by fear.

It will show my family my inner thoughts when I am gone,

And it will show my love for generations to come.

It’s the one thing that will never let me down,

And can almost never be found.

As I sit with pen in hand,

I am reminded that comfort comes when you realize it’s your friend.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin Samminga

Let me start with saying I am a mom, wife, student, writer, furry mom, and sometimes explorer extraordinaire (I have a toddler lol.) Writing is a passion of mine! I can't wait to interact with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.