Poets logo

The Pearl Necklace

Poem

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Pearl Necklace
Photo by Tiffany Anthony on Unsplash

I am the daughter of the women that came before me.

My mother's mother and generations lost in the past.

I see them in my reflection, looking into my eyes.

They are a part of my cells, my body keeps them alive.

...

I am the daughter of women that came before me.

I hear them singing a lullaby to keep me asleep.

Their voices echo down through centuries to me.

Make me feel safe in their arms when the pain runs too deep.

...

I am the daughter of women that came before me.

My breath is a gift they gave to me.

I feel their fingers on my skin as they move through my hair.

They take me by the hand and never leave my side.

...

I am the mother of women that came before me.

I wear the pearl necklace that was passed down to me.

It's my turn to keep safe all the daughters that wore it before me.

They'll live forever close to my heart and in my dreams.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.