Poets logo

The Passenger

Destination: Unknown

By Erin KellyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Passenger
Photo by Adam Azim on Unsplash

The daily journeys of my brain unfold

Like a road map to the day.

I'm just a train passenger

Observing thoughts as they come and go.

That one looks nice. Inviting. I will visit there one day ... soon.

Others, nefarious or unpleasant.

Glance away,

Or rest my eyes.

The destinations always change.

Like seasons.

But most days the train stays on the rails.

No pennies on the track.

Nothing to write home about.

Relaxing trips that don't require much investment.

But the very next stop could be the one

That aims to ruin the whole vacation.

Potential derailments are few

And far between,

But there are days

I step off the train

And say ... oh,

No.

And the train is already pulling away.

I just have to ride this trip out.

It's what's in the cards.

I suppose every day can't be a vacation.

When the driver rolls back around,

I can either scold him for leaving me

Or thank him profusely for coming back.

I grab my baggage,

And hope for a better trip tomorrow.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erin Kelly

What I lack in knowledge I make up for in passion. You'll find personal research projects in the arts and sciences here. Perhaps summaries of historical oddities, short pieces of fiction, or poetry. I know no niche.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.