Poets logo

The Part I’ll Play

At the end of the world

By Shaun WaltersPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1
From liuzishan on Freepik

Zombies take out another family in 4K

And I imagine the part I would play

A minor character in flashback

Black and white, five minute back story

Stirring melodies giving way to tense strings

Leading raids for decaying food

Flinging makeshift spears, badly aimed

Destined for disease or bloody decimation

A quick bit of action before the commercial break

There only for my children

Adding tragic depth to their character

But little to the overall story

Lucky to be credited: Dead Father Figure #1

An impetus for future heroics

Or proof of failure in their genes

On my way out, I would pray for them

Pray they are chosen, promoted

To recurring status

Too important to die

“Everyone is necessarily the hero

Of his own life story”

Me, I’m happy with the ensemble

Fifth, maybe sixth, billing

Feeling lucky to watch my stars

Ascend

Long after I’ve walked off set

Free VerseFamily
1

About the Creator

Shaun Walters

A happy guy that tends to write a little cynically. Just my way of dealing with the world outside my joyous little bubble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Dead Father Figure #1, lol. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.