Poets logo

The Pact

It's already too late

By The Invisible WriterPublished 8 days ago Updated 8 days ago 1 min read
The Pact
Photo by Ananthu Selvam on Unsplash

I step through the door into the alley

I've been waiting for you to arrive

A stranger in red with a mad voice calls

Your fall from grace is complete

Who are you? I demand

The beast who deceives

Where are you from?

Diabolical dreams

Turning I tell the stranger, I should go

You won’t get your secret desires

My secret desires?

Those things you're afraid to speak of

I’m not afraid, I assure you

You are a sleeping lamb, little fawn

The alley around me falls cold and silent

Want to rule the world?

The stranger in red steps closer

Have anyone you lust after?

Sulfur fills the air with their breath

Give in, it's easy if you try

I feel myself trapped in a strange trance

Spill the blood of a butterfly

What, I barely whisper

Let it run warm over your hands

Icy fingers of fear wrap around my spine

Lost soul, your dead dreamer is here

A scream escapes my lips

Shhh, it only hurts when you die

Please, I want to leave. I beg

Leave, we've only just begun

I have to agree, I haven't agreed

You agreed with your first sin

My flesh burns hot with the fire of brimstone

The number of my name is upon you

What happens now? I tremble, my voice hoarse

You have anything you want, cursed one

And after? I implore

You burn

The beast answers

Free Verse

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • L.C. Schäfer3 days ago

    Bloody hell, this almost scared me straight!

  • Joe Patterson7 days ago

    Very well written.

  • Oh wow, that was so dark and intense! I freaking loved it!

  • Kendall Defoe 8 days ago

    Sounds like someone talking to my Ex.

The Invisible WriterWritten by The Invisible Writer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.