Poets logo

The Other Woman

A Poem

By Lanetta DardenPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I was the other woman in your life

It's not so easy being your wife

You just don't care how much you hurt me

Acting like your cheating is deserting me

Quiet as you think it's being kept, you secret is out

Yeah, I know, been knowing for a while

But let a man be a man, chile

Is what I have heard all my life

But where is the comfort in that, for me, your wife?

You walk around here thinking you are the man

But the gig is up, it is time for you to understand

I am tired of putting up this façade of ignorance

Pretending not know know of your forbidden song and dance

I won't sit here looking at these sad walls wondering why

You have drained me of all my tears, my face is dry

If you were done with me, you could have just said so

It would have been easier to just let me go

Then went on and did what your heart desired

But, no, you were greedy, your loins were inspired

You went careening into her arms with thought of wrong

Well. I'm done, with her is where you belong

I bought a shredder, just for this day

Into it I put our license, that was once on display

Evidently, it really was a just a piece of paper to you

Infidelity, cruelty to wife, disloyal, none of which were in our vows

When you come off your induced sexual high, no longer aroused

I hope you realize what you had and get your just due

I am free from your yoke of burden, I'm through

Catch feelings for her that she is incapable of returning

Leave you high and dry and your sack just burning

Serves you right for dogging me who loved you despite your crap

But even if your life turns out to be a 100 grand

Mine will be 10 times better, just knowing you ain't my man

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.