Poets logo

The Orchard

Among brothers

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Orchard
Photo by Matthew Rumph on Unsplash

There was a young farmer who grew fond of his family apple orchard.

He would play in the orchard, pick apples when he was hungry, and

Climb the trees reading in their branches. It happened that years passed and the farmer grew up

He had to make a decision to follow in his great grandfather's footsteps or to go to college. The farmer changed as he aged and sought newer challenges leaving the care in his younger brother. He said, I had good times with the orchard, many memories, happy times but that was when I was young, I am much older and I leave it to you brother for your childhood's memories. The brother said, I think I want to stay on the farm and take care of the orchard like Mom and Dad did before and have friends to help. I understand that you love the orchard and how hard it is for you. I'll take care of it and you may want to work for me someday. The farmer hugged his younger brother thanking him and left. After college, the farmer had compelling memorable flashbacks about the orchard since he moved so far away and his studies and friends kept him busy all those years making him forget. He surprised his younger brother but his younger brother bearly recognized him and he slightly recognized him. He had to asked one of the laborers if the orchard was run by his younger brother's name. He found his younger brother successful and witty. They caught up for hour upon hours and days upon days. Until finally he asked for his share of the profits to pay his bills and for a good job however the younger brother said, You left me with the hard task of making the family business work. I worked from the ground up, planting, watering, pruning, hiring, and nurturing. I'm sorry brother but my laborers are my friends and like family. I can't replace them. The orchard isn't what it used to be, it's a business. All I could do is give you a buyout. The farmer in anger and disgrace refuse and threaten to sue his brother and they never were the same towards each other.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.