Poets logo

The Opposite of Motion

#VocalNPM

By Druce WaynePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

One of my biggest struggles in life is doing too much.

My passion has gotten me far in life but at times can turn into too much “stuff.”

The proper phrase that kids call it is “extra.”

And instead of tryna suppress the franticness I let it rule.

And I thought it was golden because I viewed myself as a future Midas. But if the fire gets too hot even gold gets consumed.

My biological father whom I’ve only spoken with on the phone is a Yogi. If you don’t want to Google what that means it’s basically hippy Hindu shit, Winnebago and all.

I still grew up with my Mom and a fantastic Dad. But growing up I had what society would call ADHD, which means sometimes I’m way too lazy, and other times my intensity comes off as too crazy.

I remember when I drove to New Mexico by myself over fall break and slept in my car.

Just to feel movement.

I remember when I started rapping (yeah I’m a white rapper. I know some would view that role as fruitless).

Nervous as hell trying to make a difference in the people around me, as corny as that sounds. And I hated it and myself. Because I was moving too fast.

My brain was too focused on my past, and whether someone else might laugh, or that they might think I’m not genuine in my craft. I was fighting it.

Staying still.

My biological father told me what I was missing.

Meditation. Lack of motion so your motion can be peaceful and efficient.

A phrase that’s always stuck with me was from the movie Cars when Doc told Lightning to turn right to go left.

Before you do what you want to do, you gotta do the opposite.

I’m learning that’s a fact of life and haven’t fully become fond of it.

I was trying to quench my soul’s thirst, to put my soul to work.

But I didn’t know my worth.

It was based upon everyone and everything else.

My therapist tells me it’s not good for your health.

The truth is everything is energy, everything is always in motion.

For myself the biggest breakthrough was when I realized that I have to be still, even while moving.

Quit moving too fast and learn to be here, now.

Before you can get your plans in motion your soul has to be present.

Meditate. Find your connection.

Your chakras might just start vibrating while doing so just to show you the world won’t stop just because you do.

Turn right to go left.

Stay still so you can be in motion.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Druce Wayne

White rapper with a subtle lisp who writes poetry.

Instagram: @drucewayne

Twitter: @thedrucewayne

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.