Poets logo

The ones that got away

It's Been a Long Road

By Alexander McEvoyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
15
Image generated using AI

Day of Month of Distant Year

Dear, the ones that got away,

Fear. Pain. Hate. Sorrow.

Lost. Adrift. Sleepless. Hopeless.

Regret. Questions. Tears.

Yours,

The boy you left behind.

**

Day of Month of Later Year

Dear, the ones that got away,

There were times, in days gone by,

when I would stand alone and wonder why.

Friends you were, to me incredible.

But then, to you, I was, a fruit inedible.

Crushes come and friendships go.

And time constantly away does flow.

To those who wait, it offers healing.

And to the heart reprieve from steeling.

I’ve learned through loss,

Away to toss,

All hope of answer,

As though t’were cancer.

And await no more,

The fool’s hope for,

your kind return,

or love to earn.

Yours,

The boy you left behind.

**

Day of Month of later Year.

Dear, the ones that got away,

Our ship has left behind the quay

where once we thought to come some day

with friendship strong to ocean spray

and linger long in sheltered bay.

I’ve sailed away, despite the fear

of what you wrought in yesteryear.

And in my heart a feeling queer

though sun is bright and sky is clear

at horizon unknown I now do peer

As though there hides the answers we’re

never going to find if we stay here.

And so to you, I’ve this it say

I wish there had been some other way

for me to you to remain dear

And then these seas together we could steer.

Yours,

The boy you left behind.

**

Day of Month of Later Year

Dear, the ones that got away,

It wasn’t all for romance

When with you I formed a bond

Friendships too have come and gone

Of all types and sorts have I grown fond

Perhaps we could if not for chance

Leave aside and move beyond

The petty lines between us drawn

But too wide the gulf has yawned

To meet again, in friendly stance.

Yours,

The boy you left behind.

**

Day of Month of Present Year

Dear, the ones that got away,

Who turned and ran.

And those from whom I turned and fled

Those who hurt

Those I hurt

I’ve been for years in aching dread

Wondering if there’s a plan

A reason it’s turned out this way

Why you broke me deep and long

Why I broke you in my turn

The pain we cause

This pain we cause

The feelings deep inside us burn

These broken wishes to us belong

But we're too far apart to say

In any form that we might hear

That one of us, the other forgives

Is it enough?

It's not enough

We parted, our lives to live

Beyond the pain from yesteryear

Each of us, that got away.

Yours,

The Man that I became.

heartbreak
15

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    These were a beautiful collection of poems that all started with the same/ similar line! It really added to the layers and depth of this piece, the way you shifted perspective but not so dramatically! Great work Alex!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I really enjoyed the different styles across the 3 segments. The change in style gives me the impression of how the subject changes too as he ages.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    What a powerful piece! I can relate to everything you wrote.

  • Thank you for this, it captures the feeling so well

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This so accurately describes that feeling of time moving too fast, losing too much and feeling as if it is always you being left behind. I loved the structure of this and the emotions in every line. And the way you ended it was great

  • The challenge of letting go of what might have been to embrace what is & hope for what yet might be. Beautifully & lyrically expressed.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    A poem filled with words for us all. Broken souls are we all. Beautiful poetry.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Brilliant 😁

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This was stunning, Alexander. I loved the format and the way you followed it through. So much emotion bursting out on the screen. Well done!

  • Gary Ragnarsson10 months ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed that! Great work 😊

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow, that was so creative, the way you broke that up in separate sections, all starting off the same way. That was really lovely and deep, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.