Poets logo

The Ones That Got Away

Like Days On The Calendar

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
9

Where do you go when the lights all go out

And safety is found in the shadows

How can you trust, with words spoken in doubt

And deep hollowness is all that follows

If you must threaten to leave, to find the love that you need

Then what are the reasons to stay

Feeling guilty for the things that I shouldn’t feel

Deep regrets for words, never said

When you had all the time you could waste

And life just kept giving you more

Now I can only imagine the taste

Broken hearts left to die, on the floor

Walk on like like I don’t recognize it

Tattered and bleeding, as a way to keep score

I’ve no need of that old shattered heart

Free to take it, I don’t want it no more

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    Beautiful words and pictures. Relationships are nature and like nature for there are always differences to see.

  • This was so heartbreaking and relatable. It made me so emotional. Loved your poem!

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    That's how I felt when my ex left home for someone else. I was 30, she was 19. Oh well, I survived and became better because of his leaving.

  • Powerful in all its plain-spoken truth. This was my favorite portion, hitting me right where it counts: "If you must threaten to leave, to find the love that you need Then what are the reasons to stay"

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Powerful and bold heartbreaking poem!!! Left some love!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Your poems about heartbreak always shine, and this one is no exception. Well done, Kelli!

  • Trista Harrison8 months ago

    Great work! The feeling of a shattered heart, when there's nothing left to break, is truly despicable. Loving someone only to be left tattered and numb, with nothing left to lose.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.