Poets logo

The old shoebox in my room

Rife with memories, sealed tight

By Official StoryTellingPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The old shoebox in my room
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Rife with memories, sealed tight.

The old shoebox in my room, beckons me at night.

We built it together, you and I.

I can still see you, by my side, if I just close my eyes.

A brilliant idea, you said, I laughed,

that you were being childish.

Old movie tickets, a chocolate wrapper, a torn piece of paper.

Why save any of that? I had exclaimed.

With that ever-knowing smile, you had explained,

The significance of memories. Keep them safe, or they’ll fade away.

Fade away! I was outraged. Let them try!

I had challenged. You were mine. No one could take you away.

Rife with memories, sealed tight.

The old shoebox in my room, beckons me at night.

We built it together, you and I.

I can still see you, by my side, if I just close my eyes.

I lived in the moment, but you had the foresight.

Moments though precious, were of fickle mind.

Value them today, and they will never leave.

Forget them, ever, they’ll forget you, even when you call in desperate need.

Little by little, you put it together.

The song, the notebook and the letter.

Your words sound like those from a prayer.

Precious like your thoughts, warm like your presence.

Rife with memories, sealed tight.

The old shoebox in my room, beckons me at night.

We built it together, you and I.

I can still see you, by my side, if I just close my eyes.

Angry and broken, I scream.

Into the pillow, it muffles my cries, but cannot stop my tears.

They fall, relentless, like your disease.

it still lives, but they say you are now at peace.

Stay strong you said, as you breathed your last.

For I am always here, not just in days of the past.

Let the memories strengthen you, remember the happy times.

But do not grip them too tight, or else, you’ll never again, take flight.

Rife with memories, sealed tight.

The old shoebox in my room, beckons me at night.

We built it together, you and I.

I can still see you, by my side, if I just close my eyes.

In my heart you’ll always remain.

Gone too soon, but always near.

I close my eyes and you’re there.

My guardian angel, my lodestar.

Full of memories, happy and bright.

The old shoebox in my room, beckons me at night.

We built it together, you and I.

I still see you, by my side, every time I close my eyes.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Official StoryTelling

The song, the notebook and the letter; I am an official story teller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.