Poets logo

The Old Man in the Mirror

Submission for Full Moon Challenge

By ElsaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Old Man in the Mirror
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

You’re here again I see.

I’ve met you in my slumber many times before.

The medicine cabinet mirror holds you, saves me from you.

Who are you? The words swirl in my head. My mouth like cotton unable to speak.

Your blank eyes staring through me.

Bald head

Blank eyes

Beaded vest

The bathroom caves around me. My alarm ringing in the distance.

Who are you!?!

Bald head

Blank eyes

Beaded vest

Slowly lifting your gaze to mine

You smile so sinister and slimy

I wake

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elsa

Teacher, traveler, fur baby mom, reader, and writer. I enjoy writing historical fiction stories, fiction, poetry, true crime, and nonfiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.