Poets logo

The Ocean

Thoughts tumbling like the sea

By Lucia B.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
14
The Ocean
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

They say there are four oceans

Really there is one

Wrapped around the planet we live on

Divided up for a con

It is cool and fresh and blue

It is my shelter, my solitude

I am sinking beneath the waves

Perhaps I have been for days

But still, it seems impossible to know

What lies above or below

It was the source of oxygen, living, breathing

But beneath, intoxicating, suffocating, crashing

With the waves that push me under

Beneath towers of clouds that thunder

I watch the little bubbles dance

Trying to discern in which direction they prance

I am lost, I am lingering

I am rising, I am drifting

The water cradles me

Drowns me, carries me

The tumult of emotion swells and bursts

I float, I tumble and I contort

I am far, so far from any sight of land

An ironic pain for one who so hated sand

But it holds out to me stability

In this constant futility

Rising, falling, tumbling

Crashing, gasping

To breathe

But I don’t want to leave

This place of comfort and strength

Where I’ve sought my refuge at length

What is this place where I reside

Where is my shelter? Where do I confide?

Where is joy, pain, disgrace?

What is this place?

The ocean is my own heart

The distance that parts us

The ocean is the home

That I have known

The waves, death, and life the sea

You are my ocean, and the ocean is me

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Lucia B.

Poet

Novelist

Linguist & Aspiring Polyglot

Bibliophile

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    You have a beautiful and unique style and flow… I really enjoyed this and look forward to diving (mhmm) into more of your work ✨❤️

  • Mesh Toraskar9 months ago

    Oh wow! Oh wow! Oh wow! This was startlingly good. Extremely resonant! The first line had me hooked and it just never let me go. They say there are four oceans Really there is one Wrapped around the planet we live on Divided up for a con OOF. Love your style and thanks to Mackenzie for pointing me in this direction!

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    I loved the sense of oneness that rolled through this poem. Such a phenomenal way of expressing love and the continuity of thought! Beautiful.

  • Such interconnectedness, our separation/isolation from one another no more than an illusion, our beginning & end one & the same.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I know exactly how this feels: “I am far, so far from any sight of land An ironic pain for one who so hated sand But it holds out to me stability In this constant futility Rising, falling, tumbling Crashing, gasping To breathe But I don’t want to leave This place of comfort and strength Where I’ve sought my refuge at length“ You put it so eloquently and elegantly. I’m loving your style so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.