Poets logo

The Ocean, Climate Change, and Extinction

Our Voices

By Heaven on EarthPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
3
The Ocean, Climate Change, and Extinction
Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

I am like you, I am a living being.

I live on planet Earth.

And I am very concerned!

I am facing extinction.

I started in the ocean.

I am ancient.

I absorb carbon dioxide and produce oxygen.

I am critical to the existence of every living organism on Earth.

I am in big trouble.

Ocean acidification is threatening my existence.

I am phytoplankton.

I, too, am ancient.

I am an animal most often mistaken for a plant.

I produce a tremendous amount of oxygen.

I am home to 25% of marine life.

I am dying.

I am coral.

I am prehistoric.

I have been around for millions-of-years.

I am hunted for my fins and liver.

But now, I am facing a worse fate.

My only home, the ocean, is turning into a hell on Earth.

Warmer temperatures make it hard to swim, hunt, and breathe.

My microscopic dermal denticles are eroding.

My nerves are becoming exposed and I am in constant pain.

I am a Great White Shark.

I live in the Arctic.

I have my entire life.

My home is melting.

Because of this I am starving, and my species is dying.

I am a polar bear.

I live, only, in The Gulf of California.

I keep it's ecosystem healthy, as an apex predator.

My kind originated 4.8 million-years-ago.

Less than 5,000 of my species existed.

Sadly, today, only about 10 of us are still alive.

Fishing with illegal gillnets is the cause.

This makes me the most endangered marine mammal in the world.

I am known by human beings as "the panda of the sea".

I am a Vaquita porpoise.

I am a land mammal.

I have only been here a short time.

I love planet Earth.

But I am destructive.

I have created greenhouse gases that have warmed the planet.

I have endangered all of Earth's life.

I am responsible.

I, too, am now endangered.

I am a human being.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Heaven on Earth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Nancy Whitt7 months ago

    Very impactful. Thank you for taking the time to do this I greatly appreciate it.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Very interesting and informative! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.