Poets logo

The Oblivion Of Time

On The Absurdity Of Everyday Life

By YonathanJPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Oblivion Of Time
Photo by Angelo Pantazis on Unsplash

How many days fall into the oblivion of time

How many moments, simply discarded, for the sake

of the future or the past, losing ourselves in

temporary pleasures of the flesh, while we

forget we forget, years after years

How many days will I truly remember

when, mere seconds before death I contemplate

and reflect, on a life half-lived,

spent almost awake

At times I catch myself, living through

minutes and hours and weeks where I know.

I know I won't remember. Moments that don't

matter. And it's then that the absurdist in me

yawps at the void of life ;

To an indifferent silence, not even an echo.

And as my many days, I myself will inevitably

sink deeper,

in the oblivion of time

surreal poetrysad poetryart
1

About the Creator

YonathanJ

I've been an avid reader for as long as I remember, and a writer since childhood. Crafting stories fascinate me. I write to share my outlook on life, that is often taken too seriously. Hope you enjoy my writings

www.youtube.com/@YonathanJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.