Poets logo

The Netherworld

Neither completely lost Nor Found

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
It’s a trap

Idea,

Come back to me

Why did you leave?

I just had you

And now you’ve sunk into

My Netherworld

___

The dark, deep and grey

Solitary space

My marbles are confined to

___

I wonder

When my Dr. will tell me

That Alzheimer’s

Is around the corner

I don’t want to think about it

And so the thought

Sinks into

My Netherworld

___

To retrieve a marble

Is very rare indeed

And you least expect it

After it is written down

To sink into

The Netherworld

___________________________

Author Notes:

In 2012, back when I was a student in University, I produced a series of composite images for an assignment in my “Reconfigured Image” photography class. The resulting collection is an experiment that explores sentimental storytelling. Unified by their mysterious nature and solemn charm, each image in the series contains one photograph that I took, layered with one or more photographs that I found for free whist browsing the internet. The cover photo I chose for this Poem is one of 9 in the series titled, “Darkish Dreams.” The photograph I produced for this image was of the spider. It was hanging around the exterior of my Aunt’s house one day.

inspirationalart
4

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I love this! You really captured where those lost thoughts go, along with one of my biggest fears.

  • Jeffrey Sparksabout a year ago

    Wonderful read. Really enjoyed it!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This was awesome and incredibly relatable. I love the backstory and that image is the perfect match. Clever stuff, Allie! You have a new subscriber!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.