Poets logo

The Music Within

Tattooed On My Skin

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
The Music Within
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

My skin bares the proof - more than lived, I’ve survived

Invisible ink tells the tale

A mother, lover, and wanderer through life

A woman with stories for sale

Wounds of the broken with victorious hearts

Memories, carried, like badges of honor

Proud of my endeavors, and broken parts

Setting me apart from all of the others

I sing a song with every breath, the universe in tune, sings along

The tempo building - a unique symphony

And returns to me - a new song

Soundtracks of my life - play in perfect harmony

Tattooing my heart with its treasures

Giving me more than the passage in front of me

Granting a lifetime of pleasure

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Great poem with wonderful flow that tells a story. Well done.

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    This is beautiful and could be about every woman. Well done Kelli.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Excellent poetry. Great use of symbolism and each word and line flows perfectly into the next. Very well done.

  • Great poem!

  • Adlyne Faithabout a year ago

    'My skin bares the proof - more than lived, I’ve survived' My favorite so far. Every time I look at myself in the mirror, the scars unseen is what reminds me that I have survived. Great job!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Outstanding, loving the music within!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.