Poets logo

The Monster Of March

And My Favorite Partner In Crime

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2023
32

Birthdays -

yeeeaah, birthdays!!

Another year closer to your own demise.

Birthdays -

frickin' birthdays.

I've kept count of the years, by the wrinkles, forming gracefully, around my eyes.

By alpay tonga on Unsplash

Birthdays

Many - happy birthdays.

If it weren't for the cake and the ice cream, I'd say, " go take a hike!"

Blasted birthdays

I'll spank myself, thanks -

Unless the cast arrives to celebrate, from the movie, Magic Mike!

By Tanbir Mahmud on Unsplash

Sure, I know I should be thankful,

Every day is a new gift.

But there is something ~ not so funny,

when your face becomes "the gif."

*

So, here's to birthdays!

guess I'll give in,

They are much easier for me to go through -

because, I have a twin.

And he's older, (a whole 5 minutes!)

So, yeah, there's that,

so, as the numbers begin to add up, he'll be there, catching the crap.

*

So, here's to birthdays.

I hope you agree.

That getting older is much better,

than the view from 6 foot deep.

So, light the candles,

eat all the cake.

And don't let anybody blow you crap,

cause it's your special day!

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

slam poetry
32

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Kalliema RieVenturiniabout a year ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉✨❤️

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Hey, 5 minutes older counts. You will always be younger. You gave me my laugh for the day

  • Nikki Clamabout a year ago

    Woah Amazing, It made me smile :)

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This poem offers a humorous and lighthearted take on the concept of birthdays, while also acknowledging the inevitable passage of time and the importance of celebrating life's milestones.🧡🧡❣️💕

  • ❤️This made me smile the whole time 😊😉💬

  • Jace Vergaraabout a year ago

    lmao

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I loved this! It was full of surprises, realizations and personal growth. But I have to ask, when is your birthday? Happy belated if the day you published this was your actual birthday.

  • Gobi Munusamyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on top story! Good story

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    What fun 🤩🥰. Congrats Kelli on Top Story 🥰

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your top story ! I enjoyed your take on “cake” day!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This was really cute and made me smile! Happy birthday -- and congrats on another top notch story!

  • Some great lines and congratulations on your Top Story

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Haha! This had some great lines!! 🤣

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Omg!! Where's the Top Story for this one, Vocal? This is fabulous. I lol at "I'll spank myself."

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Love this. Especially this line," I'll spank myself, thanks - Unless the cast arrives to celebrate, from the movie, Magic Mike!"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.