Poets logo

The Moment We Met

Love song/Poem

By Hannah AlexanderPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

From the first time we met

I knew it was you

From the first time we met

I knew it was true

From the very first moment

Close my eyes and recall it

That very first meeting

And I knew I would love you

Take me back to better days and summer rays

Take me back to runnin maze and yesterdays

And take me back to the heat of that summer,

So I don't remember how in winter you left

Cold in December

Your name on my breath

As I begged you to stay

But you walked away

From me

Fast forward some years, you've grown up now

And I can't believe I'm still in this town

We've met up a few times..

And you brought your wife

Something pangs from the inside

As I've seen how in your life

I wasn't ever the one you'd remember

Nor the one that burns your heart like embers

So when I reach inside to put out the blaze

I need you to know, that for 5 years my gaze

Was centered on you

Take me back to better days and summer rays

Take me back to runnin maze and yesterdays

And take me back to the heat of that summer,

So I don't remember how in winter you left

Cold in December

Your name on my breath

As I begged you to stay

But you walked away

From me

As I look back on good days and bad days alike

I knew that you'd always be in my sight

From the very first moment

Eyes locked and emboldened

I knew it was you

Now I see you with your wife

Just so happy

And I can't believe that I'm not crying

And I see your baby all wrapped up in white

Just like those cold months of winter

Transformed into warmth

And you may not ever be with me

But I'll always remember

Those golden rays of that summer

When you and I first met

And I knew I would love you

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.