Poets logo

The Misfits

Do You Have Super Senses

By J.W. BairdPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

Do you have super powers? Well I could say I do! Do you have super strength, or turn invisible where I can see through?

My special abilities have become this awful gift. My mind amplifies every one of my five senses. If you could compare them to a group of friends, they would end up being the misfits in the end.

My eyes tend to blur and at times... I don't always see what I think I see. From glasses to contacts and readers they will shortly be.... my eyes sometimes they deceive me.

This is when they just don't make sense!

All that loud music in my younger years is now the only way I tend to hear. I feel as though this is hereditary, my kids don't hear that well either, I think we need new ears.

My nose is extra special. I tend to smell extremely well. Just the smell of coffee and some foods make me sick, it's a symptom I would love to quell.

I love my tongue's taste for adventure. I love sweet, I love spicy now when I decide to cook there are many times I don't even measure.

My body's touch is way out of whack and messes with my proprioception. This is my biggest concern and when I see the doctor again is something I will definitely mention.

Everyone loves to blame our age when it comes to the way our five senses come to play. But if you are anything like me, it could be my fibromyalgia, or the central nervous system that messes with me each day.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.